The Dyscalculia Day


dyscalculia

So , today also happens to be the ‘Dyscalculia Day ‘ . Well , if ‘dyscalculics’ remember what day it is .

I came to know about dyscalculia from Tiff of Free play life . It was an instant recognition . The feeling of belonging. Of finding a place/group where you truly belong . At last .

Ever since then , along with all the online reading and researches I have done about it I have also tried to spread the word . But the ultimate truth is people do not care . Of course they have more pressing problems.

Whether the human race cares about dyscalculia or not knowing about this condition has helped me in more ways than I can fathom. It pushed me to plan and organise meticulously . Earlier I did not care much about sorting out papers or keeping them in order . Because I always thought it is the same for every other person. I thought misplacing them or forgetting them regularly was just continuous accidents that can happen to any one .

But now I take it as a task . I keep separate folders and files . Colour coded. With a little effort my papers and slips and cards and bills go into the correct folders. Even when I get disorganised I do not feel helpless as I used to. I just take the time to put them in order.

I keep email back ups. Scan and back up required documents . Set enough alarms and reminders. Has a digital clock in my living room .

I shop only in supermarkets where I do not have to worry about change and weight and calculations. With small changes I have stopped calculating as I will confuse the person further. But , there are people who try to trick you smartly when they see the blank look on your face . So if I feel  something is fishy I take the time and patience to check it through . Serves them right 😛 With major transactions I do some home work and get every thing correct and ready .

And most of all , I do not take up work from others which I am sure I will mess up. Even when it happens I just pat on my shoulder and move on. In short life is much more easier when you know you are dyscalculic than when you doesn’t have a clue what is going on and why you are forgetting and making a fool of yourself.

With the knowledge about this problem I was able to overcome my phobia towards cash and banks. Now I do not panic when I have to deal with numbers . Calculator is my constant companion . I may stumble in between but I know I will find my way out . I was able to draw up a routine which is efficient and flexible enough to give me space . And now I do not make a fuss about my problems . Instead I figure out ways to deal with it . Each and every one of them. It took 3-4 years , but now I can say ‘Yes , It is oK . I can deal with this ‘.

Whenever I speak to someone about the difficulties I have as a dyscalculic they tell me, ” It is just because you are not concentrating enough . It is the same for every one . You should pay more attention .” (That is the most frustrating part .) But I think for a dyscalculic it not about paying attention or concentrating more . It is about ‘not panicking’ and ‘finding ways’ with which he/she can cope better .

And that is why awareness is important . Common man may be amused to know about this condition . But to a dyscalculic it is an answer to all the problems they have been facing ever since they can remember . It is the answer to that nagging question ‘ why I am different ‘ .

If you are interested you can find more about dyscalculia here : Check for symptoms of Dyscalculia here.

Spread the word . It will help a dyscalculic person to get a grip on his/ her life. And feel happy about himself/herself.

IMG_4144

Leave a Reply

