Thursday Challenge : Pets


Ruby and Pearl with Leo on Smart kid magazine

I am a very very lousy pet owner . Even then , we have a dog , two rabbits and some fishes .

My favourite is the aquarium . As Shilpa has said beautifully in her blog , I cling to the Feng Shui belief when it comes to pet fish . Thanks to Feng Shui to making us feel good by saying it is not a bad luck when a fish dies . It just take your bad luck away . If I go by Feng Shui then I really have some bad – luck- spell on me which my fishes are taking away with them enthusiastically .  Any way I neither give up nor brood . I just go and buy another pair 😀

Guppies are my favourite . They also remind of a child hood friend who had a huge collection of Guppies in an inbuilt tank . When we come back home after vacation we would beg him for some guppies and he would give us one or two pairs after many swapping . We used to put it in a bottle with some holes on the top and bring it home on bus all the way from Alleppey to Ernakulam . Now , I can appreciate fully my mother’s patience 😉

I read some where, it would be better if people with strong water element keep away from having pet fish . It doesn’t suit them well 😦  May be there is some truth in it . While I was searching for that article which I did not find I came upon this  beautiful article on Feng shui Front door. 

Here is a video which kids made on their aquarium . This is their first attempt . And they did it themselves when I asked them to go around and get me some snaps of the pets for the Thursday Challenge .

I really wanted to ask them to do another video with some modifications and some more zoom ins and zoom outs . A more presentable one 😉 But I consciously controlled the temptation 🙂

I feel parents shouldn’t interfere to guide and correct the children every now and then . Even though parents do it to make kids do better and also to avoid failures and mistakes I feel it affects the child’s imagination . It also draws a line of limitation preventing the child from jumping into the unknown to explore . Remember , A parent who is eager to  prevent the child from making the same mistakes they have made in their life and is all set to improvise the child is just trying to relive/rewrite their own lives in a perfect way .

Let them fail and let them do it imperfectly . Then only they can learn to win and improve themselves .

I am proud of the video they have done 🙂

Our aquarium

Our fish bowl

5 responses to “Thursday Challenge : Pets

  1. Wow!! You have so many pets!!
    How are rabbits as pets… I guess, all they do is eat and breed!! 😀
    Your aquarium is beautiful… My son saw it and he has asked me to show it to him, thrice…and now he wants a diver and other attractive decoratives in our fish bowl!! 🙂

  2. Shilpa , rabbits are just rabbits . Like they are there . that is all. My daughter is not that comfortable with the pet dog Leo and she wants a pet for herself .

    Happy that your son liked the aquarium . They set it based on a story they made 😀
    https://krishnnaleela.wordpress.com/2009/11/18/the-newly-set-aquarium-and-instant-story/

    We too have a diver . Ruby’s favourite 😀 Hugs to your Sonny 😀

  3. Oh woww! So many pets 🙂 I hd a dog and fishes too in the past 🙂 Fishes were my personal fav and I used to call them my brothers 😛
    Luv Minnie and Daisy, and those pics in the magazine are so cute 🙂

  4. Beautiful I have been wanting to set a aquarium never got to it though I have bought a huge tank , will do .
    Have a pond ingarden with about a dozen fishes and I love sitting out and watch them play.

    Good video..

  5. WOW !!! You have so many pets….love the fish bowl. 🙂 Now, u and Shilpa are inspiring me to go for a fish bowl…..lemme see. 🙂

Leave a Reply

