On Makravilakku


Since childhood I have heard ‘Makaravilakku’  is the Adivasi (tribals) conducting their Pooja . My earliest memories of Makaravilakku is listening to the live radio commentary while at my Father’s place in Harippad . I can feel the kitchen bench where I had sat with my father and I can smell my Grand mother’s curry in the air .

As a child I had thought of the place or “Ponnambalamedu ”  as a calm dwelling place of the tribals whose grand fathers might have known Ayyappan in person . But surely as there are no tribals there now somebody else is doing it now . Even though we would like to believe it to be the tribals .

It is true that now with LIve telecast and all it has been commercialized . ( We even got a call from a channel to place an ad for the 45 minutes for a huge amount . )

I have also heard that the ‘ Makara Nakshatram ‘ or the star can be seen from the near by districts during this time of the year . Sirius is the brightest star in the sky . ( something I learned while at 6th or 7th std along with my friend who was a space enthusiast )

I am not an authority . I am just a common Hindu . The point is information is available if you look for it and if you want to know the truth and if you don’t fall for the gimmicks and superstition .

People should have the wisdom to understand your beliefs and religion rationally and to respect others’ .

Anyway I believe and pray to the Supreme power which dwells inside me and is present every where . I would be gratified with praying at the temple any day . Makara Sankranti is just a change in the sun’s path . And was important when we were predominantly a agricultural society.

If at all this happens on its own ( which by now I know for sure it is not ) I would be interested to know the science and phenomenon behind it . Just like I am fascinated by the Garuda ( eagle ) which accompanies the ‘thiruvabharanam’ every year and then goes away. I am keeping my eyes and ears open . If anybody know the secret please do share.

I agree that it should be disclosed in public. Actually , the first thing that I said after knowing about the dreadful tragedy was that ‘ it is high time they make it public what goes on there ‘ . But it is also important that people accept it is endorsed for common good and not to scandalise a religion or belief.

People should accept the ritual as a part of History of Kerala . ‘That some tribals who lived there used to conduct a pooja at the time of Makara Sankranti and it could be seen from Sabarimala.’

At this point I can’t help remembering the rush and stampede and fight that occurs in front of the shrines and temples or public functions or queues where no magic is involved and the only point is ‘to be the first’ . I think it all comes down to self discipline and that includes me.

May the bereaved families find the strength to survive and peace in life . Nothing would change what they have lost .

10 responses to “On Makravilakku

  1. Oh yeah…that stampede…so very saddening… 😦

    But did u read the version given by the ppl of the Temple trust and others to Supreme Court that Makaravilakku is a man-made thing, with pictures and all, in the newspapers ???

  2. I am alien it seems cause I dont know what this is all about.. I know one thing that we are humans and every god told us to be good to each other..

    But the stampede is sad bad bad thing .. whatever the reasons

    • It is a pilgrimage centre in Kerala Bikram .

      I second you on your thoughts .

      Stampede was a great tragedy . I think one of the biggest one in Kerala unfortunately .

  3. That was really sad indeed 😦

  4. My dad used to go to Sabarimalai every year. He just stopped recently because of his age and fitness levels. Otherwise, watching the makara jyoti was a ritual in our house too. I believe in it. Infact people have always tried to disprove it. But I’d rather just ignore that (EVEN if it is true) and just pretend that this is a divine light. I’m Ok with the pretence. It is like a child KNOWING there is no Santa Claus but still believing whole-heartedly 🙂

  5. Oh Pal, I was also thinking of Santa , but thought people would think it inappropriate .
    I ve always linked it with a closed clan who were left on their own . And had their own wonderful rituals and customs . Their own ways to know the changes in universe . Some thing like ‘Avatar’ 😀 What saddens me is the fact that they were all evicted long long ago 😦

  6. Wonderful beat ! I would like to apprentice while you amend your website, how could i subscribe for a blog
    web site? The account helped me a acceptable deal.
    I had been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered bright clear concept

  7. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wijshed to say that
    I have really loved surfing arkund your weblog posts.
    After all I will be subscribing to your rss feed
    and I am hoping yyou wwrite once more soon!

Leave a Reply

