The Love story .


The last month I didn’t have access to net and my world revolved around books . I was reading like I had gone mad .

In a book reading community I had seen a forum ” the most touching death of characters ” ! There so many people have posted ” Love story by Erich Sehgal

( In my case the death that really caught me is that of ‘ Bonny in Gone with the wind ‘ . Some times I wonder why Margarett Mitchell ever created that character . )

Coming back to the twenty books challenge , I searched for this book  when I went to the library. It was there all worn out and with only a handful of pages . I will finish it in a jiffy . That was the first thing that came to my mind .  I wondered how such a small book can influence these many people . How catching the story would be .

I saw that the book was written in 1975 . hmm… so much time has lapsed . Would it stand the sands of time ?

Usually I dont like to start reading with a prejudiced mind . But in this case I already know the main character will die . So I didn’t have much hope .

But to my surprise the first sentence of the novel said ‘ what would you say about a girl who died at the age of 23’ . So now on even ground I braced up for the story .

As I expected I finished it in a jiffy . And I was left with a feeling of Dejavu ! I couldn’t exactly figure out the reason.

It took about half an hour for it to dawn on me . An old time hit movie , A trend setter , A heart breaking love story of yester years was inspired from this story .

The songs are all superhit and the caste was superb . Yes , ‘ Madanolsavam‘ ( ‘ The festival of love ‘ ) with Kamal Hasan and Zareena Wahab in the leading roles .

This movie is more special , bcoz it was the first movie for which my parents went together and whenever any song of this movie comes on TV my mother get all emotional and says how my father was moved by the plight  of the heroine and walked out of the theatre without waiting for the movie to end . haha ! So much to go with a movie . I love movies because more or less they denote the time periods in our life .

Nice book.  have a read !

Leave a Reply

