Ponnin Vishu !


Konna flowers are my favourite.We had a ‘Konna’ in front of our house at Haripad . Whenever I think of vishu this tree comes to my mind as a background.  Even though now we get enough flowers here for vishu I always long for those flowers picked from our house.

I would love to wake up again on a vishu morning, as a young girl with amma blind folding me with her soft hands. I would always peep through as I believe mom and dad is the best ‘kani’ you can have. Now  Hubby and kids have taken that place and life has changed so much that it is impossible to be that small girl again .

Vishu mornings always bring the prospects of a bright year with yellow konna flowers, lighted lamps and all those fruits with bright yellow colour and fragrance typical of the festive season and holidays  .

I always wonder why all these festivals are so nostalgic?

that smell of ‘sambar’ from the kitchen

the sweet mischevious smile on Appa’s face, which would always be there once he reaches Haripad!

avial made of cashew nut and drum stick … yum yum

the endless counting and planning for vishukaineettom

walking barefooted from temple to temple under the hot sun and praying earnestly to reach home soon so that we can have our breakfast!

ripe anjili fruits , chakka varathathu , aathakka.

bunches of kudamulla , I think every mango tree in Haripad has jasmine vines on them! You just have to shake those vines  and there would be a shower of sweet smelling flowers  .

Kilichundan manga, Speciality of Haripad . Even now when I take a bite of a kilichundan manga I feel like a small girl standing under that huge tree !

All these are the sweet memories that rush to my mind one after another like from a movie when I think of Vishu .

‘varshangal poyathariyathe

veendum oru vishu koodi kadannupokumbol

nigalkku tharan kayyil oru pidi konnapookkalum

manassil orayiram aasamsakalum mathram.’

5 responses to “Ponnin Vishu !

  1. Aswathy Venugopal

    nostalgic.. 😛

  2. Very very nostalgic post! I am trying to visualise all those falling kudamulla. 🙂
    Happy Vishu to you and family!

  3. huh!!
    well said..
    nostalgic memories..
    thanks for sharing..
    i enjoyed.. eh!! lived ….

  4. Kani kaannu, kaineetam kittanu kaathu nilpundu 🙂

Leave a Reply

