Open House


I had gone to my kids’ school for open house. Swetha ‘s teacher always have praises for her . So it is nice to hear.

When I went for the last open house I had been running around to tell every one that my child is is different and needs more help and acceptance. It wasn’t that easy. It is the first report of Siva after he started to take the resource help and after he was diagnosed with LD.

Since then our life has changed so much. We started to explore. Along with the studies our days were fun packed . We did lots of project works. Did a lot of reading.

I realised it is possible to enjoy life in full swing along with the studies and home works and daily routine and that we dont have to wait till vacation for having fun.

I had been thinking all the while Siva’s teachers will be having so many points to tell me.But his class teacher is the most relaxed and considerate teacher I have ever met. Instead of telling me anything she asked ” what you think ? How is he ?”

” Well, I am satisfied. He has improved a lot .”

Of course, That is the truth. Apart from the academics  his social skills have improved a lot since the second term. Now he has so many friends. He speaks to them. Earlier he used to be sent out of the class frequently. Got himself in so many troubles unintentionally. But not anymore.

His teacher told me that he is a good child. There is nothing you have to be worried about. Just think that he is a normal child.

His English teacher told me some very nice words that I am the one ultimately responsible for the change by coming up with the correct problem and report so they were able to understand him and they wish all the mothers to be like this . I was overwhelmed.

I thanked them for the support and care they have given to my child. And how efficiently they have brought him into the normal stream.

My whole world revolves around my kids. Sometimes I wonder what I will do once both of them would be  grown up and would not need me!

These are some precious moments when I feel , as a mother my life is worth it. I know I have a long way to go. But comments like this assures me that I am on the right track .

5 responses to “Open House

  1. Akka..so proud of u n Sivu…u were always there for us with motherly affection n care all times…love u..

  2. hey akka,

    if you ask appa hel will tell you… my open houses were not that good… oh my god… i still get scared of the word open house…

    only very few teachers told something good about me… so i still remember them…

    but really very happy to hear my boy is doing good… i wa feeling very sad of the fact that he din have friends, that why wen i came down last time i made it a point to play with siva …. what ever he wants to play.!!!

    As sali akka told “u were always there for us with motherly affection”love you a lot akka…

  3. Unni, Nobody entertains them like you !

  4. Aswathy Venugopal

    all cheers goes to shiva’s mom to bring him up with his friends.. 🙂

Leave a Reply

