Books we Read .


I used to have a tough time selecting  books for my kids. But what I do now is just ask them what would they want to read. Or ask them to select themselves. And then I select some more books following the thread , which they may need for further reading . I note down the books and characters referred in their texts and get them later or take print outs from net.

They have developed a habit of looking at the back page to see what all books the publishers have in the same series and collecting them all. Yes, to some extent I give in.

Ruby has a taste for magic and mystery books and fairy tales.  His interests are so diverse   😀 . Pearl has no doubts about anything whatsoever.  She always knows her stuff.

They read and reread to their will .  And they refer back to their books whenever they come across the same words or points. While doing projects or looking for extra points they know exactly in which book and where they can find them.When their favourite cartoons come on tv they take their books as well.

What I found out is ,  it is much easier to buy books than to lend them. The fine I give to the library is costing me a fortune.

Their Aunt's contribution

What Reading looks like at Krishnaleela : Setting up the Library , Our books for the fortnight ,No more Harry Potter reading Nights , Loopholes in Rapunzel , Bookmarks for Swetha The world of Grass Hoppers

The books the kids  select themselves ,they will finish it either from the book shop itself or on their way back home. The books I select for them, they may finish in the next day  or next year. Usually in chunks. Anyway they go through the book and refer back when needed.

3 responses to “Books we Read .

  1. Lovely collection – I like that ‘I cn spell and write well’ 🙂

  2. pls check out this website http://booksforchildren.in/. There are good books at a very reasonable cost.

  3. Nice collection there! Namnam loves to read or rather be read to 🙂 With not good enough libraries around I always buy books for her and me. Its such a joy to see your kids develop the love for reading isnt it?? I just cant wait for namnam to start reading Enid Blyton’, tinkle, chandama, etc. 🙂

Leave a Reply

