The wonderful eyes of a 5 year old.


We were coming back from one of our usual evening strolls. It was getting dark and the stars had started to shine. I pointed at a bright star towards the south eastern part of the sky and wondered what it was.

It was very bright and I said aloud it could be the Alpha centaury because it is so bright. I had learned some where Alpha centaury doesn’t blink as it is most near to us.. Again I wondered if it is the polar star ? But the Polar star is visible only in the morning. ( north or south ? I am not sure. )

So I had no idea what this star was but I kept on babbling just to continue the talk with Ruby. I thought I will check some where later and explain it to him.

Ruby , of course had no doubts. He was sure it was a planet . Because it was not blinking. Oh ! yes, planets are also there. Then it came to me it could be Venus. The brightest planet . Ruby’s suggestion of it being Mars was cut out as there was no red hue.

Jupiter? Saturn ? Can you see the rings ?

We were so caught up in our conversation we forgot about Pearl who was trying hard to keep up with us . Of course she also had her own findings . She thought both of us were  dumb fools. Cannot see through the most simple thing.

She interrupted us to say the most beautiful words .” Mother , it is just a fire fly high up there !”

And she was so sure about it. I envy her for the wonder a 5 year old’s eyes have . Oh God , Please let me see this world with those eyes! So innocent and so naive !

I think what we saw then was Venus . Points to Ruby 😦  .

Venus is visible in the South eastern part of evening sky and South western part of morning sky. Polar star is visible here only in the early morning and only in the North. It doesn’t change its position ( Dhruva Nakshatram ). And Alpha centaury is a cluster of stars.

5 responses to “The wonderful eyes of a 5 year old.

  1. Aswathy Venugopal

    lovely that u include such things in their daily talks..

  2. What a sweet convo!:) Full marks to Ruby, and Pearl too 🙂

  3. 🙂 Now she knows about planets and stars . She is busy keeping up with her brother and outgrowing the magical age 😦 🙂

  4. Loved the post and you conversation with the children. 🙂

  5. ah Shail , while I was reading the comment Ruby came straight away claiming that he has seen Jupiter and wants me to go with him and check it out 😀

Leave a Reply

