Giftedness , Learning Disability, Dyslexia; Please Don’t feel bad to get help!


I have only heard every body telling me that my son can do better. “He is just not trying “and “he is distracted “.

Even though we realised earlier he may be having a learning problem I hadn’t asked any body for help. I thought they may, well, think I am exaggerating or even worse think that my son is just dumb which I don’t want to hear.

I weighed in mind several times whether I should or I shouldn’t when I asked his Paediatrician , Dr. M.Venugopal about his problem. Then he asked me, ” Why didn’t you tell me earlier. Please get your child assessed . That is the simplest thing to do. It will not affect his confidence. And more, you can be sure if anything needs to be done.”

He gave me a referance letter to Child Care Centre . I was dumbfounded. Help was so near, within an arm’s distance and it took me so much time to realise it. I think this is where the importance of awareness comes.

I tell about this to anybody I come across , bcoz only God knows may be their child is also suffering and may be he/she needs help and they do not realise. I think about the years my son suffered, I think about the change I could have bring if I had known.

As Siva has got a very good memory he does good in his exams. Otherwise he struggles a lot in lot of areas.

But this year they have more self writing questions. While preparing for the exams I found that he stumbles with basic words like ‘ on, the , be’  as though he has never seen them before. That is when I decided to go straight away and take an assessment.

This time he cudn’t write first term exams as he was ill and so there were no marks to look out for. So I cud get through and get assistance from resource dept. And his new class teacher couldn’t have been more considerate.

When I went to meet his resource teacher yesterday it was a completely different story.

No complaints of being distracted or not trying. Till then I had been defending him all along .

Actually she told me ” Your son  is getting bored in his class. Give him more mental and physical work. Please  Don’t stress him about spellings. I know what you have been going through. Your son has a ‘Bright normal  IQ ‘ and it is very good.We will see that he is properly taken care of . Principal Mam wants a list of gifted children. We will give him work that matches his IQ. ”

Suddenly I found out that I have no more words left to say. It was the first time he was wholeheartedly accepted for his intelligence and God given gifts. I could feel tears welling in my eyes . I somehow managed to  mouth a ‘Thank you’ and simply left the place !

 

2 responses to “Giftedness , Learning Disability, Dyslexia; Please Don’t feel bad to get help!

  1. Pingback: Open House « Krishnaleela….

  2. Ashwathy, I had tears in my eyes too, when I read how the teacher accepted and recognized your son for his good qualities. Very touching. God bless!

Leave a Reply

